Sanford Health Hy-Vee

Scholarship Information

Legends for Kids is now accepting applications for the Legends for Kids Scholarship. This scholarship seeks to identify the most outstanding graduating senior(s) and to grant an award to be used for higher-level education. The $5,000 prize was created in 2016 by Legends for Kids, Hy-Vee Food Stores, Sanford Health and First Premier.

The award recipient must be a graduating senior with plans to attend a college or university the following academic year. If he/she chooses to pursue a career in the military that leads him/her to have a delayed start to his/her higher education, the scholarship will be rolled over to the two academic semesters following his/her return. The award recipient must be a graduating senior. Additionally, the award recipient will have demonstrated exceptional character and leadership in furthering his/her own progress and in enriching the lives of others, especially in athletics and school involvement.

The application criteria should address the ways in which the student exemplifies this award. Specific examples of activities and achievements are especially helpful to the selection committee. Finalists, who are selected by a committee designated by the Legends for Kids Board of Directors.

For more information, contact Michelle Rhead at or at (605) 312-7090.

Details about the 2023 program will be announced early in the 2022-23 school year.



Jacob Angerhofer – Aberdeen Central (Northern State University) Kylie Foss – Brandon Valley (Northwestern College - Orange City, Iowa) Caleb Henderson – Canton (South Dakota School of Mines) Sydney Kjellsen – Newell (Black Hills State University) Sam Scholten – Brandon Valley (Augustana University) Paige Sterud – Dell Rapids (Nova Southeastern University) Derrek VanderLeest – Sioux Falls Christian (Dordt University) Mya Vandrovec – Sioux Falls Roosevelt (Fort Hays State University)


Zoe Bruflat – Sioux Falls Washington (Northwestern College) Brady Fergen – Menno (Dordt University) Brooklyn Kusler – Aberdeen Central (Southwest Minnesota State University) Charlie Jensen – Sioux Falls Roosevelt (South Dakota State University) Abigail Mayer – Sioux Falls Washington (Black Hills State University) Ty Schafer – Sioux Falls Lincoln (Northwestern College) Anna Schmidt – Aberdeen Roncalli (Augustana University) Jacob Williams – Wolsey-Wessington (Dakota Wesleyan University)


Ellie Abraham – Brookings (U.S. Naval Academy) Grace DuVall – Chamberlain (University of South Dakota) Rose Eitemiller – Wagner (South Dakota State University) Hattie Giblin – Sioux Falls Roosevelt (University of South Dakota) Kaden Hackman – Sioux Falls O'Gorman (Bethel University) Brady Hawkins – Ethan (South Dakota State University) Courtney Mongar – Sioux Falls Roosevelt (Grand Canyon University) Macey Nielson – Sioux Falls Roosevelt (Dordt University) Jacob Randle – Sioux Falls Lincoln (Dakota State University) Cole Sylliaasen - Brandon Valley (South Dakota State University)


Angyth Josephine Dal – Sioux Falls Lincoln Eisley Sayler – Menno Kendra Jensen – Alcester-Hudson Ashley Ask – Brandon Valley Mitchell Noem – Hamlin Jay Holm – Dell Rapids Tyler Hackman – Sioux Falls O’Gorman Madison Moody – Sanborn Central (not pictured) Jacob Frantzen – Brandon Valley (not pictured)


Regan Benike – Castlewood Kylie Carpenter – Waverly/South Shore Taylor VanderVelde – Sioux Falls Washington Elizabeth Duncan – Brandon Valley Kevin Shan – Madison Tyler VanHorssen – Sioux Falls Christian Carter Ades – Sioux Fall Roosevelt Topher Zahn – Sioux Falls Washington


Kylie Bertram – Flandreau Logan Hansen – Viborg-Hurley Bailey Rudebusch – Howard Joie Spier – Rutland Rachael Laetsch – McCook Central Jadyn McCready – Wolsey-Wessington Logan Mahoney – Parkston


Luke Frisch – Sioux Falls O’Gorman Danielle Gottlieben – Watertown Amanda Mace – West Sioux (Iowa) Hunter Johnson – Wolsey-Wessington Tate Deiner – Mt. Vernon Carter Van Gorp – Sioux Falls Christian